You are here

Beds/Baths

6 BR
4 BA
16 Guests

Search Availability

Banyan Beach
Master bedroom
1 King
Guest bedroom
1 King
Guest bedroom
1 King
Guest bedroom
1 King
Guest bedroom
2 Queen
Guest bedroom
2 Double

Description

The 'Big Kahuna' is a extremely elegant Banyan Beach home with AMAZING Views and can easily accommodate 16 of your favorite friends and family UNDER ONE ROOF. The 'Big Kahuna' is ideal for multiple families or family reunions. It has everything you are looking for in Port Aransas. You can grill your local catch of the day next to the private pool in the backyard, stroll to the beach access just a few steps from the BRAND NEW walk over, relax and enjoy the great Gulf views or lounge around the large community pool just a short walk away. Take the FREE Golf Cart to all of the local restaurants, shops or marina in Port A.

As you enter this luxurious home you are greeted with sophisticated palates of serenity. The first level can sleep 12 comfortably, with 4 expansive bedrooms (2 king beds, 2 queen beds, 2 full beds) and 2 full baths. Each bedroom has a personal touch. Parking is available for five. There are 4 beach cruiser bikes in the garage for your enjoyment. Cool off in the private pool in the back yard, after a warm day on the beach.

The Big Kahuna's second floor features a wide open living area with a 60' flat LED TV, dining seating for 16 with additional 6 counter seats for seating up to 22. The kitchen is stocked for entertaining a large group and has everything a chef can dream of. Whisk away and enjoy one of the two master KING suites, each with private baths, vaulted ceilings, and shared balcony with seating.

The vast covered deck off the back of the house is a gathering spot to enjoy the AMAZING gulf breezes and views of the Texas Gulf Coast. Want to know where the young ones are? We've got that covered. The third floor tower room features a 55' flat LCD TV and bluetooth DVD, Sony PS3 (please bring your own games), a foosball table, electric darts, iPod stereo docking station, a collection of board games, 2 twin beds.

The entire house features beach decor, furnished to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's with cable. There is secured wireless internet and washer/ dryer on both floors. Our property manager, Silver Sands Vacation Rentals, offers the very best in customer service. The 'Big Kahuna' can deliver a great beach vacation for your large group, sleeping under one roof!!

Maximum of five vehicles can be parked at this home, no street parking! There are 9 parking spaces within a few hundred feet of the house for overflow parking. Please, no pets allowed, no smoking inside the home but you may step outside to smoke.

For larger groups check out our sister property located directly behind Big Kahuna, House of Views. The two houses combined offer 12 bedrooms with two private pools, two golf carts and much much more!

Golf Cart Available for nightly rentals only (14 nights or less). Monthly rentals the cart can be rented for an additional $100 per week.

Keywords: House, Beach access, pool, sleeps 16, Banyan Beach, 6 bedroom, 6 bath, Beach view, Gulf View City of Port Aransas Registration: 200113998

Amenities

The Basics

  • Pets Not Allowed
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Garage Access

Everyday Essentials

  • 24/7 Local Support
  • Silver Sands Personal Amenities
  • Plush Towels Provided
  • Starter Supply of Toiletries
  • Linens Provided
  • Free WiFi
  • Hair Dryer
  • Silver Sands Concierge

Amusement

  • Satellite / Cable
  • TV's in Every Bedroom
  • DVD Player

Kitchen

  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Dishwasher
  • Coffee Maker
  • Keurig
  • Blender
  • Dishes and Utensils

Outdoor Living

  • Golf Cart Included
  • Patio
  • Outdoor Dining
  • Picnic Table
  • Private Pool
  • Community Pool
  • Outdoor Shower

Island Comforts

  • Golf Cart Accessible
  • Ocean Views
  • Walking Distance to Beach
  • Walking Distance to Local Favorites

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
August 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 

Rates

DatesNightly
08/16/2022 - 08/17/2022$1,320
08/18/2022 - 08/21/2022$1,368
08/22/2022 - 08/24/2022$1,320
08/25/2022 - 08/28/2022$1,368
08/29/2022 - 08/31/2022$1,320
09/01/2022 - 09/01/2022$1,368
09/02/2022 - 09/05/2022$1,424
09/06/2022 - 09/08/2022$775
09/09/2022 - 09/10/2022$795
09/11/2022 - 09/15/2022$775
09/16/2022 - 09/17/2022$795
09/18/2022 - 09/22/2022$775
09/23/2022 - 09/24/2022$795
09/25/2022 - 09/29/2022$775
09/30/2022 - 10/01/2022$795
10/02/2022 - 10/06/2022$775
10/07/2022 - 10/08/2022$795
10/09/2022 - 10/13/2022$775
10/14/2022 - 10/15/2022$795
10/16/2022 - 10/20/2022$775
10/21/2022 - 10/22/2022$795
10/23/2022 - 10/27/2022$775
10/28/2022 - 10/29/2022$795
10/30/2022 - 10/31/2022$775
11/01/2022 - 11/17/2022$490
11/18/2022 - 11/27/2022$954
11/28/2022 - 12/18/2022$490
12/19/2022 - 01/01/2023$954
01/02/2023 - 03/02/2023$490
03/03/2023 - 03/27/2023$1,200
03/28/2023 - 03/30/2023$750
03/31/2023 - 04/01/2023$775
04/02/2023 - 04/06/2023$750
04/07/2023 - 04/08/2023$775
04/09/2023 - 04/13/2023$750
04/14/2023 - 04/16/2023$960
04/17/2023 - 04/20/2023$750
04/21/2023 - 04/22/2023$775
04/23/2023 - 04/27/2023$750
04/28/2023 - 04/29/2023$775
04/30/2023 - 05/04/2023$750
05/05/2023 - 05/06/2023$775
05/07/2023 - 05/11/2023$750
05/12/2023 - 05/13/2023$775
05/14/2023 - 05/18/2023$750
05/19/2023 - 05/20/2023$775
05/21/2023 - 05/25/2023$750
05/26/2023 - 05/28/2023$1,425
05/29/2023 - 05/31/2023$1,375
06/01/2023 - 06/04/2023$1,425
06/05/2023 - 06/07/2023$1,375
06/08/2023 - 06/11/2023$1,425
06/12/2023 - 06/14/2023$1,375
06/15/2023 - 06/18/2023$1,425
06/19/2023 - 06/21/2023$1,375
06/22/2023 - 06/25/2023$1,425
06/26/2023 - 06/28/2023$1,375
06/29/2023 - 07/05/2023$1,875
07/06/2023 - 07/09/2023$1,620
07/10/2023 - 07/12/2023$1,375
07/13/2023 - 07/16/2023$1,620
07/17/2023 - 07/19/2023$1,375
07/20/2023 - 07/23/2023$1,620
07/24/2023 - 07/26/2023$1,375
07/27/2023 - 07/30/2023$1,620
07/31/2023 - 07/31/2023$1,375

Location

Reviews

AWESOME

Reviewed on 2022-08-08 by Kelly
Overall
5
This place is great! We had 8 adults and three babies (6month olds) and there was PLENTY of room!!! The rooms are spacious, each family had all their luggage and a pack and play in their room with no problem! The dining table was perfect and there was plenty of seating in the living room! A would say a private pool like this one is a MUST for those days you don’t feel like going to the beach! We will definitely go again!!!
 

Management Response

 

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the stay here! We appreciate you for taking the time to leave feedback, this helps us learn what we can do better, hope to have you stay again soon -Bella

4 Star

Reviewed on 2022-07-11 by Thad
Overall
4
Everything was fine except for 2 things: 1. When we arrived the floors were very sandy and needed to be swept. 2. We kept the thermostat set at 72 degrees as instructed. The temperature was usually higher than 72 degrees. In general, the temperature in the house was uncomfortable.
 
This certainly isn't the feedback that we like to hear!  And we always want to leave our guests with a first-class impression, so I regret that we missed the mark on this visit.

Amazing House

Reviewed on 2022-05-02 by Ellen
Overall
5
10 Women and we each had our own space! The house was immaculate, spacious and ultra comfortable. The golf cart was so much fun and allowed us to "ride on the beach"!The kitchen was designed so many cooks could work at the same time without bumping into each other. The living area was so awesome, plenty of comfy chairs and a huge couch for severe to stretch out on. The bedroom were very comfortable, great beds and baths. The pool was serene, just wish it had a little more sun, by noon, it was fairly shady. Perhaps the management could address these three concerns...1. Lack of facial wash cloths and hand towels. 2. As we were cleaning up the refrigerator, one of the gals cut her arm on the broken piece of plastic in the lower right bottom area. Apparently there was a shelf or something and it was missing...just a broken piece of plastic sticking out. Maybe it can be removed to produce future accidents.3. The space on the third floor never seemed to cool down adequately, not sure if anything can be done about that.

Our Port A stay!

Reviewed on 2022-03-28 by Mackenzie
Overall
5
We LOVED the house so much! We loved having the golf cart that made it easier to transport chairs and coolers to the beach. The rooms and beds were beautiful and comfortable and the space was perfect and fun for 14 girls!! We were definitely sad to leave and it was a great weekend and great location! Thank you for everything!

Our Port A stay!

Reviewed on 2022-03-28 by Mackenzie
Overall
5
We LOVED the house so much! We loved having the golf cart that made it easier to transport chairs and coolers to the beach. The rooms and beds were beautiful and comfortable and the space was perfect and fun for 14 girls!! We were definitely sad to leave and it was a great weekend and great location! Thank you for everything!

A Pleasant Stay at Big Kahuna

Reviewed on 2021-11-30 by Sandy
Overall
5
We stayed 2 nights after Thanksgiving 2021 to celebrate our parents golden wedding anniversary. There were 10 of us. The property was large enough for everyone to have a private bedroom and common areas never felt cramped. We cooked all meals at the property. Weather was chilly and light rain so we didn't spend anytime on the patio or pool area. The beach was a quick <5min walk over the boardwalk or golf cart ride the next street over for beach access. Every room had a TV and ceiling fan. 2 HVAC (1st floor / 2nd floor) provided ample cooling and heating. Beds were comfortable and quiet. With 4 bathrooms there was never a queue.  

A Pleasant Stay at Big Kahuna

Reviewed on 2021-11-30 by Sandy
Overall
5
We stayed 2 nights after Thanksgiving 2021 to celebrate our parents golden wedding anniversary. There were 10 of us. The property was large enough for everyone to have a private bedroom and common areas never felt cramped. We cooked all meals at the property. Weather was chilly and light rain so we didn't spend anytime on the patio or pool area. The beach was a quick <5min walk over the boardwalk or golf cart ride the next street over for beach access. Every room had a TV and ceiling fan. 2 HVAC (1st floor / 2nd floor) provided ample cooling and heating. Beds were comfortable and quiet. With 4 bathrooms there was never a queue.  

Big Kahuna was Great!

Reviewed on 2021-05-17 by Kelli
Overall
4
The house worked perfectly for my annual mother-daughter beach trip. My only complaint is more towels and washcloths are needed and the disposal kept shutting off. I had to call maintenance once but they came right out and fixed it. It broke again, but I reset it and all was good. Silversands was great to work with - very easy process and very professional.

Big Kahuna was Great!

Reviewed on 2021-05-17 by Kelli
Overall
4
The house worked perfectly for my annual mother-daughter beach trip. My only complaint is more towels and washcloths are needed and the disposal kept shutting off. I had to call maintenance once but they came right out and fixed it. It broke again, but I reset it and all was good. Silversands was great to work with - very easy process and very professional.

Big Kahuna- BIG YES!

Reviewed on 2020-08-11 by Jackson F. , Port Aransas, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
First of all, the location is awesome! So close to the boardwalk! Secondly, the house is amazing! From the private pool to the view from the third floor balcony I was in love!! Already booked for next summer!

Better than a spa weekend

Reviewed on 2020-08-11 by Jackson F. , Port Aransas, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
I wasn't looking forward to a big vacation with the WHOLE family but there was room for all of us! Sp spacious and comfortable. Some hung out on the balcony, some were at the beach and some hung out at the pool. Silver Sands, thank you for being so good to us

Big Kahuna was a great place for our group of 14.

Reviewed on 2020-07-29 by Joann k. , Houston, TX US
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The pictures and floor plan were very helpful. It was clean and spacious. The pool was great since Hurricane Hanna kept us from the beach at times and driving on the beach was prohibited but the boardwalk was wonderful and made a close walk to the beach. Would recommend this place. The outside grill was dirty when we wanted to use it but maintenance came and took care of it immediately. I would recommend bringing extra bathroom paper goods, kitchen paper goods and spices. Plenty of cooking and serving dishes and silverware. With so many stairs it would be hard for a handicapped person to get around. We did not venture out much due to the covid19 and storm but the teenagers did manage to due some shopping at the local shops. All in all we had a great time, took some great photos, and will try to get back very soon.

Overall great... just be aware of a few things.

Reviewed on 2020-07-20 by , San Antonio , TX US
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4
The good and the parts I wish I would have known ahead of time...

The best part about this place is the size of the property and easy access to the beach. The main floor living/kitchen area is awesome and open! There was so much space for gathering inside and outside! From the back door, you walk straight over a board walk and onto the beach. They also had a few chairs and boogie boards in the garage that we enjoyed using. This is a huge house! At times, we had 20 family members eating together. There was more than enough room for everyone to eat and hang out. The beds were comfortable too. We had plenty of space for 16 people to stay and shower. It didn't feel crowded at all!

Considering the price of this rental, there are some things you need to be aware of... The kitchen has every utensil and pot you would ever need. They do not however have any spices or salt/pepper. This was fine, because we brought spices. You will also want to make sure to bring coffee filters for a 12 cup pot, laundry detergent if you plan to wash clothes, extra paper towels, and extra toilet paper. Trust me, the amount of paper products they leave you is not enough for 16 people for 3 nights. Just want others to be aware.

Also, sound carries! There is no sound proof insulation in any of the walls. The 4 downstairs bedrooms all had issues with noise. One bedroom is by the stairs. Even with my daughter's sound machine on full blast, you could hear every step on the stairs. One king room downstairs backed up to the hall bathroom. You could hear everytime someone used the toilet or sink. The 2 other rooms were under the living area, so you could hear people moving around. Looking at the other homes, they are probably all built the same.

We would stay here again, but for the price they should at least consider leaving a few laundry pods, more toilet paper, and more paper towels for guests to use. If you are looking for a huge space to gather by the beach,

Big Kahuna Beach House Vay Cay

Reviewed on 2020-06-11 by Jennifer B. , Austin , TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
3
Property condition
5
I booked the Big Kahuna for my daughter birthday. The private pool made the experience so much better! The kids played in the pool while the adults relaxed on the patio. The house was clean and well stocked with kitchen essentials. The golf cart was fun to ride into town to get pizza and ice cream. I have been forever changed by the Big Kahuna experience! My family and I don’t want to stay in resorts ever again! The privacy and convenience of the house made this an unforgettable vacation. Thank you!

Manager's Response

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback on the Big Kahuna. Here at Silver Sands Vacation Rentals, we really do try to give our guests the best experience possible. We greatly appreciate your business, and please come back anytime!

Best Trip So Far

Reviewed on 2019-09-22 by Jackson F. , Port Aransas, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Boardwalk, Golf Cart, Private Pool, Community Pool And BBQ Pit These Are The Things You Need For A No Complaint Weekend. Our Group Had A Great Time. The Weather Was Perfect. Another Great Year In Port Aransas. This Is Our Third Time Booking With Silver Sands, They Have Never Let Us Down.

Above Average- Had Fun!

Reviewed on 2019-07-26 by sandra a. , United States
Overall
3
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
3
Overall the house was OK. Started off bad with a severe leak in one of the bottom bedrooms. We had to put big buckets bc it was literally pouring at times. Maintenance responded well, we called around 9-10pm and they arrived about an hour and half later. There was a clog in one of the ac lines. They were able to fix it the next day. The dishwasher wasn't working, but I was told that at check in. The location was great, not far from beach - was walking distance, but we of course loaded our vehicles to park at beach. With 5 families we just didn't like how cluster the parking and close the houses were in the area. Being in the back bbq'ing was too small, but we managed. Pool was fine. Rooms were too small for us. We likely would not stay there again just bc of the size, but would recommend it. Oh and the free golf cart was awesome.

Manager's Response

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay!
We hope you stay with us again on your next beach vacation! We are so sorry fro the issues that arose while you were here.
Next time you come down, call or email us and let one of our reservation specialists assist you on finding a perfect home to sit your families needs

Thank you again,

Silver Sands Vacation Rentals

Family Memorial Weekend

Reviewed on 2019-05-29 by Sofia C.
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
2
Overall good experience - common area was spacious for all to sit and relax. Although sleeping area downstairs was pretty uncomfortable because AC would not cool lower than 76. Upstairs AC was a bit better but was still not cool enough. We did see live and dead roaches throughout especially on 2nd floor. Kitchen could use some newer cooking utensils and the oven start button doesn’t work.
Pool area was nice size for younger kids. Proximity to beach was great! Staff and rental office was always available.

Manager's Response

Dear Patricia,
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay at the "Big Kahuna!"
We are delighted to hear that the kiddos enjoyed the pool area, the close proximity to the beach was great, along with the spacious of the home for you and your family.
On behalf of our Silver Sands team, please accept our sincere apologies for any unforeseen issues that arose while you were here, causing your stay to be disrupted in any way.
We do appreciate the feedback and most definitely will be addressing these with our entire staff immediately to ensure the things you have mentioned are addressed.
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to have you during your time in Port A and do hope to have you back with us again in the near future.

Very Warmest Regards,
Your Silver Sands Team

Girl's Trip

Reviewed on 2019-05-21 by Shannon B. , N/A, CO United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Excellent clean beautiful home!

Manager's Response

Dear Shannon,
We greatly appreciate you letting us know your stay was excellent and you enjoyed your time while here while staying in the beautifully grand "Big Kahuna" home during your getaway.
We look forward to having you back again in the near future and we thank you for allowing Silver Sands the opportunity to have you stay with us.

Very Warmest Regards,
Your Silver Sands Family

Great Property for Groups

Reviewed on 2019-03-19 by Gail Y. , Cedar Park, TX US
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
2
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The property is amazing. Very suited to large group where everyone can have enough space. There is a pool but NOT heated although I was told it was. That was disappointing as specifically did this for the grandchildren. Property Management companies was horrible at communication. I would use another firm.

High School Team Retreat

Reviewed on 2019-01-22 by Lisa M D. , New Braunfels, TX US
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Thempics on the website don’t do the home justice. It was very clean & looked new! Tastefully decorated. The kitchen was bigger than the pics depict. We had 15 people seated comfortably at the table. Pretty easy walk to the beach. Don’t be deceived, however, the boardwalk to the beach is not off the backporch, there’s a short walk around the corner to get to that boardwalk. Plenty of pots, pans, silverware, plates, cups, etc. If you plan on getting in the kitchen & cooking, make sure to bring a can opener & some counter spray as well as scrubbing pads, sponge or whatever you use to clean with. Bring tour own spices including S&P. There’s a small bottle of dish soap &, depending on how long you stay, a few dishwasher Tablets for the dishwasher. Plenty of couch space in the den & TV’s in every room. I took 15 high school girls & they never felt cramped. For sure I would recommend this house. We had a great stay!

WOW! Great place for a graduation party!!

Reviewed on 2019-01-14 by , Round Rock, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4
It was outstanding! Everything was just at it was advertised. We had a graduation party there and everyone was very impressed with the home. There was plenty of room for everyone and all were comfortable. My only disappointment was that we were not told ahead of time that there was construction around our private pool area that was part of the house. We were planning on using this as part of our entertaining space but could not as all of the furniture was stacked up and the fence was dismantled. So, we could not use it all. It would have been nice to know this before booking. We worked around it though and all was well!!

Amazing Home

Reviewed on 2019-01-04 by Marilyn M. , College Station, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The Big Kahuna was a very spacious for our party of 10 adults. We could have added 4 more people easily. The house was very well furnished and we loved the huge dining room table. The kitchen was very well equipped and had a surplus of dishes, glasses, coffee cups, silverware,& beds were very comfortable. We had a couple of maintenance issues and they were dealt with promptly and to our satisfaction. The Beach is an easy walk and easily accessible by golf cart. Everyone in our group all agreed this was the best beach house we have ever rented. Only one recommendation would be to add a gas grill.

Wonderful trip

Reviewed on 2018-08-03 by
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4
A group of 14 of us had a blast here today. I came here many years ago and it is so much nice now. The food is good and ice cream sundae is fantastic! The staff was also so friendly and accommodating, and the kids and adults rode rides. We also had the manager and several other staff members to ask us if we were having a good time which let us know that they cared about our experience. Thank you so much for making this place great!

Big Kahuna Review

Reviewed on 2018-07-12 by Deborah C. , Hurst, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
3
Property condition
3
Great property for a large family.
Beautiful hose. Everything was super clean with the exception of the pool and grill. Husband took care of both (he owns a pool company). We had a wonderful time. The only downside was the downstairs washing machine broke. The on call maintenance guy came out right away on a Friday night but determined he could not repair it. Whoever was supposed to come the next day never showed. The upstairs washing machine is tiny and for 16 people it wasn't great for getting laundry done. Other than that everything was wonderful.

Staff and family bonding!

Reviewed on 2018-07-04 by Carol B. , Austin, Tx United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3
We all work together 5 days a week for years and once a year we take a beach trip together...6 families...9 children under the age of 12...we buy groceries in Austin before leaving...this year made a bolognese and pinto beans in advance.. oh yes we stop at 7am at upper crust bakery for an assortment of items...then drive to port A...we all converged at the big kahuna Friday and left was our third time in that house so it is truly is perfect as several bedrooms have 2 each family can have a room with kids in one bed..parents in the other...love the private pool with all the kids...and I especially love dining at a table big enough to seat all of us... the beds are good...the kitchen well appointed...if we needed help for anything they were right yes I would recommend silver sands as a rental company and we all hope to stay in our house next summer!!!

Great Get-Away for Memorial Day Weekend

Reviewed on 2018-05-30 by Jack V. , Boerne, TX US
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The folks at Silver Sands rentals are great and a pleasure to work with! We stayed at Big Kahuna and thoroughly enjoyed it. There are 10 in our family group (which includes 4 grand kids under 4 yrs. old) and this place was perfect. The location is the best I've had in Port Aransas (private boardwalk, access via golf cart, Banyan Beach houses, etc.) We will definitely stay at Banyan Beach again.

Great place, Great Location

Reviewed on 2018-05-15 by David B. , Phoenix, AZ United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The place is perfect. Great location, close to everything. Nothing negative to report other then couldn't check in early!!!

Big Kahuna For Sure

Reviewed on 2018-04-13 by , Austin, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We really enjoyed the Big Kahuna. The house was great, it was spacious and had everything our family needed. It has a private pool with a great seating area. The balcony was awesome. My family enjoyed the balcony, we had dinner on the balcony which was very breezy. There was enough bedrooms to were everyone could spread out. Such a fantastic home. It so nice to be close to the beach. We brought a wagon with us which was great we loaded the wagon and walked over the boardwalk and landed on the beach. Everything was close to town. Everything in Port Aransas is getting back to normal. This little town is great.

Amazing Home for Family Fun

Reviewed on 2018-03-21 by Blayne M. , Austin, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
A group of friends came to Port A for a relaxing weekend fishing trip and had a great time at this home. It is very spacious and the layout is perfect for hosting a group or multiple families. I definitely plan to return with my family to enjoy this property in the future.

Family Vacation

Reviewed on 2018-01-14 by Jill P. , Buda, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Absolutely perfect. The only issue was the pool was a bit cold because it was in the shade but I bet that would be glorious in the Texas summer.

Manager's Response

Thank you for choosing Big Kahuna, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

SSVR Management

Port A Vacation

Reviewed on 2017-08-12 by Marilyn G. , Buckholts, Texas United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5
Our vacation experience at Port A was fabulous. The Big Kahuna comfortably accommodated our whole family. We loved the open concept kitchen, living, and dinning rooms. There were plenty of restrooms for all and washer/dryers on each floor. Loved having two Master bedrooms and the kids loved the third floor game room. Loved the pool and we were within walking distance from the beach. The golf cart was an added bonus!

Great house for big family!

Reviewed on 2017-07-27 by David K. , Austin, TX United States
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The house was beautiful and in a great location. Having your own pool (which was shaded!!!!) was really wonderful with small kids. We had a few issues while we were there--a broken water heater, a broken door handle that did not allow us to close the door all the way, a clogged sink---BUT the maintenance man was extremely friendly and came right away to fix the issues. There was also not a broom in the house, which after a day at the beach with little kids, the floor can get sandy. I called for a broom and was told someone would bring one by, no one came or called. I called the next day and I felt like I was putting someone out for calling again, and like I did not look hard enough for a broom in the house (we ALL looked, there was not one), and was told they ran out of brooms--no apology for not following through the day before or that they did not have one for us. But they did come through and one ended up being delivered at some point.
The only other information I would add to families coming to stay is that there was no salt in the house (lots of shakers, but all empty), no coffee filters (we had no idea this would not be included and also did not have a way of knowing what kind to bring until we got there), no extra paper towels, or trash bags, so these are all things that you need to pack with you! But other than that, the kitchen was equipped with anything we needed. They also had baby gates for use in one of the closets!

Perfect vacay rental

Reviewed on 2017-07-06 by Myra P. , YOAKUM, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Loved the house. Perfect for a large group!

Manager's Response

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay at Big Kahuna. We at Silver Sands are thankful for your business and look forward to seeing you on your future stay to Port Aransas.

The Ziegler Family at The Big Kahuna

Reviewed on 2017-06-28 by Thad Z. , San Antonio, TEXAS United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5
This is the second time our family has stayed at the Big Kahuna. We enjoy the house and the rental staff very much. We have reserved it for next summer.

Great house & location

Reviewed on 2017-06-24 by ANGIE L. , boerne, tx United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This house is beautifully decorated with lots of living/dining space. Kitchen fully equipped. Loved having a private pool to enjoy after the beach. We have stayed in other "colorful" houses in Port A, but these are the newest and have the best location, right in the heart of town. Board walk to the beach is short and we also enjoyed having the golf cart to help transport our chairs & ice chest.

Big Kahuna

Reviewed on 2017-03-14 by JACOB K. , sugarland, tx United States
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4
All in all, we had an awesome time!! The weather didn't cooperate but, the house is big enough to entertain indoors and we had a really good time!! The one thing that really sticks out in my mind is that the house sleeps 16 people but, the golf cart only seats 4.

Lovely rental, so close to the beach!

Reviewed on 2017-01-22 by Muhan Y. , Austin, TX United States
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4
We stayed her over the 2016 winter break with 2 other families. The house was very lovely and a very short walk to the beach. We had a shower handle break on us while we were there, and the property management quickly sent a repairman to fix it for us, which was great. Loved the prompt response time, especially on a holiday. The only other things I would be aware of is that the walls are quite thin between the two bedrooms on the main floor. We could here the other couple talking at night. There was also a port-a-potty in front of the house while we were there, which was strange and prevented us from parking one of the cars on the side. Other than that, a lovely rental!

Manager's Response

We are happy to make your vacation memorable. We take pride in making sure all matters are taken care of in a timely fashion so thank you. Please visit Port Aransas again. We are more than happy to accommodate you and your guest.

Family Vacation

Reviewed on 2017-01-10 by Ann N. , Blyth, ON Canada
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We had a wonderful time at the Big Kahuna. Great house just a block from the beach. Family of 15 - it was perfect. Didn't know until the week before that the pool as not heated. Also should have been cleaned at least once during our week - was turning green. Other than that we had no troubles. Wonderful kitchen, dining and living room. Table was large enough to seat all of us at once.

Manager's Response

We do apologize for the pool not being cleaned during your stay please next time let us know and we will be more than happy to make it right for you. This is a wonderful property to vacation at and look forward to making your next vacation just as memorable as this one . Thank you once again.

Our Annual Friends' Trip

Reviewed on 2016-09-13 by Jeremy C. , Missouri City, Tx United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
It was a great weekend and an awesome home. Close to the beach, nice little pool, and a gold cart to get around. Top game room floor got a little hotter than the others but other than that it was great!

Rogers and Gallagher reunion

Reviewed on 2016-09-07 by Eileen R. , Robstown, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The house was wonderful. Especially the long table where we could eat all together. Enough beds for everyone. Wish it was not so expensive. Definitely worth it.

Wonderful Family Time!

Reviewed on 2016-08-03 by , San Marcos, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This house accommodated 15 of us very comfortably. There were 7 children who thoroughly enjoyed the pool and game room. The golf cart was nice to take quick trips around town and to the beach. We made wonderful memories. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home!

Manager's Response

Thank you for the kind words. We love it when our guests create great memories and we look forward to seeing you in Port A again!

Family Beach stay 2016

Reviewed on 2016-08-02 by , San Antonio , Texas United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Amazing Place and location!!
The whole house was fantastic,
I stayed on the Kitchen level.
The pool as awesome, the added golf cart incentive was amazing!
I would do it again!

We had a great time!

Reviewed on 2016-06-30 by Renae W. , Lott, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
House was clean and very accommodating. We loved the large, expansive kitchen. Golf cart was a great plus. It is very close to the beach and community pool.

Our family of 14 vacation

Reviewed on 2016-06-22 by Thad Z. , San Antonio, TEXAS United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Beautiful house with plenty of space for 8 adults, 4 small children and 2 babies.

Big Kahuna 2016

Reviewed on 2016-05-26 by Jonathan R. , Harker Heights, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
the house was spacious and close to the beach and the pool/golf cart were the cherry on top

50th Celebration at The Big Kahuna

Reviewed on 2016-05-04 by Letitia Q. , Houston, Texas United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This was one of the best vacation experiences I've ever had. The house was so clean and equipped with everything you think you may need. There was plenty of room for everyone and the house was conveniently located to the beach and the happening spots! We absolutely loved it!!! There were 14 of us and we all had plenty of room to sleep and just lounge.

Spring Break Vacation

Reviewed on 2016-04-06 by Karen M. , New Berlin, WI United States
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4
Overall large enough house for 16 people with 4 different families. Very roomy and plenty of space. Kitchen had every utensil/equipment you needed to cook and is a beautiful area to have many eat in dinners! Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate and we couldn't use the pool attached in the back. Would prefer the pergola to be removed so more sun can get in. There was a house being built right next door, so was loud at times with workers. Would have liked to have known this before booking. The Golf cart was a nice addition. Although the sand bikes-2 were in garage, but only one was in working order.

perfect place for large family gathering

Reviewed on 2015-10-14 by Bernard C. , Lewisville, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
excellant stay--ideal accomadations

Perfect for retreats

Reviewed on 2015-08-14 by Amy W. , Fulshear, Tx United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
My group comes here every year for a leadership retreat. We have 15 of us and this house is simply perfect. The open spaces are big enough to accommodate us all and the beach is within walking distance so no one ever had to drive. All appliances worked great and kitchen has everything updated. Utensils and pots/pans were in excellent condition. Will always chose the Big Kahuna!!

4th of July Family Vacation

Reviewed on 2015-07-08 by Alexandra A. , Laredo, TX US
Overall
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4
Beautiful home, very nice furniture, comfortable bedding! Our only complaint was the pool had debris in it, yet pool maintenance was there when we arrived and the garage had cig butts and some debris. A call to management and it was all taken care of immediately. Make sure to bring trash bags and paper towels as there were only 2 kitchen trash bags and 1/2 a roll of paper towels upon arrival. The pots and pans could use replacement but were useable and there is not a griddle for tortillas or pancakes. Other than that the property is picture perfect and close to the beach and town! enjoyed our stay @ the Big Kahuna and would love to return again!

A Fun-Filled Family Get Together

Reviewed on 2015-07-01 by Keith S. , Georgetown, Texas United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5
We had a wonderful time with our family. This house provide more than adequate space for everyone. We especially enjoyed the layout of the house including all of the bedrooms, the expansive dining area allowing us to enjoy many memorable meals together and the adjacent kitchen. The pool in the backyard was very nice and it was less than a five minute walk over to the beach. We found the area to be relatively quiet.

The rental agency was on top of things and we had one small issue where the freezer draw to the refrigerator would not open and they had someone service it very quickly and got it in order for us.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked another family get together for next year at one of the other properties managed by this same company that is one block from this home just to try another home.

Review

Reviewed on 2015-03-24 by , Mereta, TX United States
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
2
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
5
Great house. Only complaint is the property maids parked in front of the house at 9:30am and watched us load the car and get things ready by check-out at 11am.

Manager's Response

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I sincerely apologize that the cleaning crew waiting until you departed. I have since notified them of this and it will NEVER happen again. We hope to see you on your next vacation to Port A!!